top of page

Woman conquers British coastline in epic running journey

A Scottish young runner completed her epic 4500-mile trek around the entire coast of Britain earlier in September.


Alice Connelly was on the road for 285 days, raising over £6500 to donate to the charities: Mind and The British Heart Foundation.


The twenty-three -year-old's challenge was inspired by her father’s sudden death in 2017, just as Alice began her university course in Scotland.


She said: “I struggled immensely after my dad passed away. I lost motivation for my studies and fell into a state of depression. I wanted to kickstart my life again and thought running the coastline of the UK would do the job!”




The archaeology graduate from Fife completed this solo journey starting and finishing in her hometown of Dalgety Bay in Scotland.


“It feels so surreal to say that I have completed the challenge. It’s so strange waking up in my house and not having to worry about where I am going next!”


Despite braving two yellow weather warnings for wind and rain, Alice managed to fit in four park runs and even an ultra-marathon along the way.


The young runner was overwhelmed by the support and kindness of strangers: “I had people running miles with me, B&B owners putting me up for the night, and people rescuing me during storms!”


“I must admit I do have adventure blues and have already thought about what I could do next! Maybe complete the challenge again but on a bike.”


To donate visit:


bottom of page